What a simple yummy summer treat, well, if you’re a southern gal or were brought up on southern cooking. Before i go any further I must  add that I do not even like red tomatoes. I dislike the texture in everything besides fresh salsa.  All of my marinara sauces, marinades, and dipping sauces have pureed tomatoes. And the red variety is not welcome in my salad. But take its green under-ripe counter part, fry it up and ……. all a can do is gobble them up! This is not a blog about health food. It is a blog which has parts about delicious foods while eating allergen free.

Yes, these tomatoes are fried.  I have taken a perfectly healthy tomato and fried it.

No, I did not use coconut oil I am much aware that coconut oil is the preferred health oil for frying but it is darned expensive.

Here is my advice if you can afford coconut oil go for it. buy it and live well but if not know that you are doing the best for you family,. The other changes and sacrifices you make in the end are worth so much more than the type of oil used in one recipe.

This recipe comes directly from my mom. And that recipe came from her mom. This recipe has been used for at least 3 generations and today my daughter, Pie, learned how to make fried green tomatoes so hopefully a fourth generation will enjoy this tasty and satisfying treat. I like my fried green tomatoes served with sliced zucchini and green peppers. Just slice ‘em up and serve no cooking needed. add that too black-eyed peas and cornbread. OMG we just went to ultimate southern foods medley. LOL.

Today we just had zucchini, bell peppers and rice. We enjoy dipped our veggies in allergen free ranch dressing. ( The Boy prefered hot sauce) That recipe can be found here. Did I not mention that Heidi is awesome?

1 c all-purpose gluten-free flour I prefer Jeanne’s Gluten-Free Flour Mix

1 c cornmeal

1/2 c non-dairy milk

4 green tomatoes

2 eggs

seasonings of your choice we use

2 tsp adobo

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp lemon pepper

1 tsp onion powder

Enough oil to fill a 12 in skillet to about 1/2 in

Heat oil to about 350 degree Farenheit

Slice your tomatoes into slices no thicker the 1/4 in.

Season your all cornmeal to your liking. place in a flat dish, I just use a paper plate. place your all-purpose gluten-free flour in a separate plate. Break the two eggs into a medium bowl and stir well with a fork. Think scrambled eggs. Then pour you milk into the eggs, stir again.

First dredge your sliced tomatoes in the flour. Then dip into milk-egg mixture. Next dredge in cornmeal. Set aside on a plate. Repeat until you plate is full to one layer. Place coated tomatoes, one at a time, into hot oil, fry on one side until golden brown then flip over. Let the other side brown. repeat until all tomatoes are browned. Allow to cool and drain on paper towels.

