First off let me say these biscuits are so heavenly delicious i couldn’t wait to share this recipe. I know it is supposed to be “what not to name the baby” and “why i do what not to name the baby” so I hope you can forgive me. I swear on those fronts I have some great stuff but for now back to my adaptation of a really good already gluten free recipe.

When i first began my journey to a gluten free flaky biscuit i started out with these, they are quick and pretty tasty. When i don’t have time to pre-freeze my non dairy butter for my Flaky Layers biscuits I make these. But they weren’t perfect. The minute they loose that hot from the oven so hot you’l nearly burn yourself temperature they get a bit rubbery. The butter makes them more yellow than real KFC biscuits and the use of buttermilk makes them far tangier than  the “real” glutened biscuits. Me being me, set out to fix these short comings especially the rubberiness. That was the biggest issue and the easiest to fix.

Any more than 1/2 tsp of xantham gum per cup of flour makes your baked good rubbery. More than that and they get slippery, more than that down right slimy but only in your mouth. Those deceitful little baked goods will look perfectly edible. Sigh…

Oh and I double the recipe. Doubled i get 12-15 biscuits.

Ingredients

1 c potato starch

1 1/2 c corn starch

2 Tbs baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 tsp xanthan gum

2 Tbs sugar

2/3 c shortening

1 c + 2-4 TBS non-dairy milk

Preheat oven to 375. line baking sheet with parchment paper

In a large mixing bowl, add all dry ingredients. Whisk together until well blended.

Add shortening. It does not have to be cold, room temperature is fine. cut in with pastry cutter or a fork. The result should resemble coarse crumbs.

Slowy add 1 c “milk”.  Continue adding milk up to 4 TBS until dough is very soft , sticky and holds together. This is a very wet dough.

Using very wet hands and spoon drop appx 1/4 c of dough onto a parchment paper lined baking sheet. Continue dropping mounds until all dough is used.

Bake for 10-12 minutes. remove from oven, flip biscuits and bake for an addition 5 min.

